challenge, lebaran rituals, and all that jazz…

 

colorful balloons from lebaran last year

colorful balloons from lebaran last year

 

 

Here’s a challenge;

Brief: Write/create an engaging Happy Lebaran & Mohon Maaf Lahir Batin E-Card using none of the elements below;

  • Ketupat
  • Lebaran festive cakes
  • Mosque
  • Bedug
  • People doing shalat ied
  • People wearing wardrobe in moslem style
  • Anything related to arabian/far east culture (i.e. dates, camel, desert)

Target audience : a person you dislike most

Single minded message : sIncerely asking for forgiveness

***

 

mudik last year

mudik last year

Ask me where my favorite place is, and one of them would be my house in Bandung during a day before Lebaran. It always has the smell of fresh cooked ketupat, gulai, rendang, mixed with the fragrance of fresh picked flowers.

The rituals are pretty much the same each year. Shalat Ied, morning breakfast with lebaran dishes spent with the whole family after taking a moment forgiving each other, followed with visiting to relatives.

 

During the afternoon, not only I would feel extremely full and can’t wait to change my good dress into something more convenient, usually it’s the time when we would be looking for alternative dishes beside ketupat.

Although, my mom’s rendang, sayur AC, and gulai are the best indeed.

 

chibialfa and turtle ballon

chibialfa and turtle ballon

I have my ‘side’ rituals. This is me from Lebaran last year. For the last several years, I always look for the balloon seller after doing shalat ied, and buy one balloon creature. At first it was only for fun, but then it became one of rituals. My mom always end up help me looking for the ballon seller and even give suggestion which creature I haven’t got therefore should buy. This turtle was my purchase last year.

 

 

 

 

empty street only happens during Lebaran

empty street only happens during Lebaran

 

 

Another rituals my husband and I always do is going downtown after the morning breakfast, for the sake of enjoying Bandung streets being empty. This is the picture of last year from one of the busiest street in town. I am planning to do the same thing this year, bringing my holga camera and see what interesting picture I can get out of the empty streets.

In between holiday blues, there are; traditions, rituals, and annual breaks. They are created to keep our sanity exist. At least I believe so 😉

